Today Sucks

This was a day I knew was coming for many months, I had to say goodbye to Lyndsey. When Lyndsey first got here she didn’t have what you could describe as a good life up to that point. She didn’t like to be touched, she didn’t play, she was just afraid and unhappy.

After spending a lot of time with her the first month or two, she started to forget her past, learned how to trust again and really started acting like a happy dog for probably the first time in her life. I love the happy, that’s why this hurts so much.

Awhile ago, Lyndsey was diagnosed with squamous cell carcinoma on the roof of her mouth that because of the cancers location was deemed inoperable. We managed her successfully for many, many months using a holistic approach along with more traditional drug therapies. I sadly knew from the very beginning what the eventual outcome would be for Seedy. My goal as always is to try and give all of our dogs more time, because as you know, time is fleeting.

Up until this Tuesday, Lyndsey was acting her normal happy self. Late Wednesday evening, she started showing the first signs that the cancer was becoming too much for her. She didn’t eat yesterday and she had a hard time drinking water, my poor baby.

I won’t talk about the vets office today, except to say I was extremely glad I had Caida, Beetle Bailey and Olie to hug after I came out, that took a little bit of my pain away.

Lyndsey

I Love You, Lyndsey.

The Spirit Dog

12 Responses

  1. Thank you everyone.

  2. RIP sweet Lyndsey.

    Take care of yourself Al!

  3. so sorry for you loss Al. prayers your way. starr

  4. Hi Al,

    So sorry to hear about your Lindsey. Thank God she had you. I am crying with you.

    Michelle

  5. {{{{{{hugs}}}}}}

    And give some to your pups for me.

    You’re a special man, Al. The folks and dogs in your area are very lucky to have you there.

  6. Al, I know your pain…thinking of you.. Marie

  7. Dear Al, My heart goes out to you, saying good -bye
    is always so painful. You gave Lyndsey love and a
    chance to enjoy being a dog. Take care and my
    thoughts are with you.

  8. I’m so sorry, Alan. Good-byes are never easy, even when you know they are comming…She was so lucky to be able to spend her last few months with you…and I’m sure she is running over that Rainbow Bridge and will be waiting for you with all the other spirits you’ve saved, when it’s your turn…

  9. Thank you.

    I’ve spent so much of my life with animals, that I’m not really used to having emotional support in the harder times. It is very comforting, thank you again.

  10. You and Lyndsey were lucky to have each other, Al. It’s always hard to say goodbye, but how she spent her life there with you and all of her other friends is reason to celebrate her life. Al, you’re a very special person. Thank you for who you are to these dogs.

  11. So sorry to hear of your loss. No matter how much you know it’s coming, it doesn’t make it easier.

    At least you do have quite a support group there.

    My sister held our first Maltese, Brandy, when they had to put him to sleep. I can still her her cry.

    Give all the pups an extra hug!

    Bob

  12. So sorry for your loss, Al.

Leave a Reply

