“Stay”, Is A Redundant Dog Training Command

Ya Heard Me Dawg !!

“Stay “, be stupid !!

Here’s the thing, we humans, the sometimes inarticulate carbon based units that we really are, just love to talk too much. That in itself is not the problem, unless of course when it comes to teaching our dogs something we want them to learn, obedience wise anyway.

A classic example of this in the dog training world, is the ‘stay’ command. Why say ‘stay’ ? You shouldn’t have to say it. So why say it ?

If we have done our job well enough in communicating with our dog what we expect of him or her when we tell them one of the two classic, basic obedience dog training commands. We should not have to say ” STAY, or I’ll bust a cap in your hiney”. Or whatever it is the young hipsters say.

The point here is, if you tell your dog to “SIT’, then he should sit. And if you tell your dog,  “Get ‘DOWN’ with your funky self “. Oops, there I go again.. He should lay down.

After you give your dog a ‘Sit’ or ‘Down’ command, that dog should not break that position, until you give a different command. This is why,”Stay” is redundant.

The Sprite Dog

© 2010 a.s.papszycki

5 Responses

  1. its very interesting article once friends, I really enjoyed it . best regard dog crates store 03:36

  2. My collie responds better to wait. I dont know why but it seems to work.

  3. Yeah, I use wait with our Maltese. He was never fully trained (my sister’s dog, actually), but when I take care of him he really just sits and waits when I need him to.

    Bob

  4. Never thought of it that way, Spirit Dog. I have been doing what Adrienne described, but my dogs seem to think ANY movement on my part is a release!!
    In nature, would the pack leader have a signal for the others to “stay”? Why would that be used in a pack?

  5. Too true. But it depends on how you trained it. If you train SIT to mean “park your butt until I tell you otherwise” and DOWN to mean “lay there until I release you” then STAY is redundant.

    On the other hand, I expect my dogs to follow my body language primarily. They do this naturally so it’s really easy. Give that I frequently tell them to SIT, do what I needed them to sit for (like trim a nail) and then move in such a way that it’s obvious I’m done with them…. Well, I am sure you can see what happens.

    I don’t use STAY but I do have a WAIT command. Which is simply “whatever position/place you are in, I want you to hold and I will release you shortly”. Alternately it means “settle down until I am ready for you”. What it means depends on context. Either way, I am giving them notice that a release is forthcoming.

    Like getting out of the car, they are to wait until released. Out of the kennel. While on the table while running agility, at the start line etc. I use it when them holding steady is more important than the position they are in. Does that make sense?

    It works for us. I like things to be more flexible. Using the above lets me differentiate between a momentary position I need them to be in vs a time I need them to actually wait for the release.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

