Spirit Animal Sanctuaries Big Dog House Update, Fencing

I haven’t done one of these in awhile.

I have to say the fencing guys are working in a very efficient manner, all the fence posts for the west side of the building are installed. Now they have to install the the top and bottom rails, run the chain link fabric and hang all the gates. After they’re done with that they will be starting the fencing on the east side of our new doggy house.

Spirit Animal Sanctuary fence specs for west side of building.

  • 8 foot high 9 gauge galvanized chain link fabric, top and bottom rails.
  • SS40 frame work.
  • (10) 10 foot wide drive through gates.
  • (12) 4 foot wide walk through gates.
  • Approximately 3,700 linear feet of fencing.

Here’s a couple of photos of the work so far. Each play area is the length of an American football field.

Looking south from roof

Looking south from roof

South west'ish

Southwest'ish

looking west

Looking west at 100' long physical rehabilitation yard.

North west

Northwest

The Spirit Dog

9 Responses

  1. Dear Al:
    I have been agonizing about what to do with Buddy.
    You responded to me and I thank you. I was concerned about Buddy living at a sanctuary in a cage his whole life and was so distressed at that thought, that his quality of life would be zip.
    I emailed you about him biting 3 people, but what a great Lab boy he was for me, but being a rescue, I can not adopt him out.
    It appears that the dogs are all very happy at your very special sanctuary, and that is what I want for Buddy, who has been let down by his previous owners.
    I am and will pay for his surrender.
    Can you let me know when I can drive this big boy down, I will take time off from work, I am all he has and I have to do right by him.
    I am crying writing this, but I have a LOT of dogs and some cats and kittens who go through my home, 492 in 2 1/2 years, and I want more for Buddy, more freedom, but in a safe environment where he can’t hurt anyone and he will not be euth’d.
    You have given me hope and I thank you.
    HATTON DOG RESCUE

  2. Dropped off Cupcake today way upstate New York in the loving hands of Spirt House…. Al.

    what a truly amazing man . I can’t sleep because I am missing my cupcake girl.

    Thanks again Al. I am calling you in the AM

    GOD BLESS U FOR ALL YOU DO
    Megan

  3. I know its a lot of work, but, man, being able to be around all those dogs and being able to observe all the different behaviors and constantly learning, that must be a great way to spend your life!

    Bob

  4. Hi Adrienne,

    Our guys are currently in fixed packs only because of our space limitations at present. We do swap individual dogs from pack to pack on occasion so they can have new guys to play with and it’s always fun for me to have a chance to study more behavior stuff, in the hopes I may see something new. Although at this stage of the game there’s not a whole lot I haven’t seen before, but every once in awhile I see do see something that surprises me.

  5. Mmm… I remember that one. I guess the question I really have is, how do you manage the dogs? Are they in fixed packs that only mingle with their own? That is, you don’t have packs interrelate? Or how does that go?

  6. Hi Bob,

    If you can find the time that would be great. We have a couple of people from down your way that visit their dogs here, but there trip takes a little bit longer. You must be in northern Jersey somewhere. If you make the trip up bring your little guy with you, I’ll help you out with him.

    Al

  7. Alan…

    Do you accept visitors? It’s about a4 hour ride from me, but I’d love to see your place sometime.

    Bob

  8. Hi Adrienne,

    The eight sections or pie slices (not counting the rehab yard) are meant to be the play areas for different packs.
    This may help explain it a little, https://thespiritdog.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/img010fencedrawing.jpg

  9. So why all the sectioning off of the area? How do you use all these different yards?

Leave a Reply

