Inaccurate Dog Behavior Modification Training and Advice : # 1

Inaccurate Dog Behavior Modification Training and Advice : # 1

Should I eat before my dog ?

The Inaccurate Advice is ; You must eat before your dog eats. The theory behind this is, It establishes you as the alpha.

This advice albeit seemingly logical in the minds of some, is just so inaccurate on so many levels, I’m having a hard time figuring out where to start while addressing this commonly adhered to but not very good, dog training / behavior modification philosophy.

Here’s the upshot Alphas or the toughest dogs in the pack don’t necessarily eat first, second, third or last. They eat when they want to eat. It’s that simple.

What that means is, if some other dog is eating something and the head honcho, big boss, leader of the pack, alpha or whatever else you like to call him says to himself, “Hey’ I’m hungry”. He just walks over to the other dog eating something and TAKES it from him, no questions, no discussions. The alpha dogs body language, plain and simply says “Give me that, or I’ll kill you”.

And that’s it, the subordinate dog gives it up or gets his ass kicked by the alpha.

If the alpha dog wasn’t hungry at that particular time, the subordinate dog would enjoy his meal in peace.

Whoever eats first is not the boss. The boss is the dog that can take food away from another dog whenever he wants to.

Let me repeat that.

Whoever eats first is not the boss.

The boss is the dog that can take food away from another dog whenever he wants to.

The Spirit Dog

Copyright © 2009 a.s.papszycki

8 Responses

  1. What an interesting take on this subject. I am happy you shared your thoughts and I find that I agree. I appreciate your clear writing style and the effort you have put into this post. Thank you for the solid work and good luck with the site, I greatly look forward to future updates.

  2. punctilious post. simply one unimportant where I quarrel with it. I am emailing you in detail.

  3. Sure they do! I guess I was thinking also from the other viewpoint. After looking at the posts though I guess they only real way to deal with it is to make darn sure the kids don’t/can’t mess with the dog when their eating. Particularly if you know the dog has food issues.

    Would there be any alternative though that would take care of it from the dogs point of view? I’m sorry if you think it’s already answered in the other posts. I’m maybe missing what it is. Sometimes hearing something worded six different ways gets it to make sense.

    I’m thinking of those “accidental” enocunters where the dog has food and a toddler wants to say “hi”.
    🙂

  4. Yup. What do you recommend for a household that has kids then? I am of the opinion that a kid messing with a dog who gets nipped is getting a valuable lesson. But not all dogs nip, some bite. How do you recommend people handle this? I can think of a couple things that would work but am curious as to how you see it.

  5. Hello Adrienne,

    I’m not a fan of the “put your hand in your dogs dish thing”. Because as you mentioned, it is a real good way to get bit.

  6. […] Of The Previous Behavior Post Posted on August 2, 2009 by thespiritdog The point of the previous behavior post, is, many dog owners are taught that eating before your dog or making them wait for their food is […]

  7. Hmmm… So what does this do to the idea that one should make a practice of “making” their dog give them their food? That is, put your hand in the food dish or take back the meat just to prove you can. It seems to me one might get bit doing this but I have heard this rattling around as advice for owners who have a dog that has food issues.

Leave a Reply

