God, Was I Ever That Young

A Lifetime With Dogs

When I look at these pictures, I can’t believe how long I’ve been doing this stuff. I don’t know exactly when it started, but days, weeks, months and years, just seem to be flying by at a rather disturbing rate these days. Since I turned forty (like yesterday) I have thought about my mortality since my dad (Henry) died when he was forty eight, that was back in ’74 when I was seventeen years old.

Oddly enough when I finally turned 49, I no longer worried about that number. It’s as if I had attached some mythical importance to it that signified my departure from this planet. And that on the day of my forty ninth birthday, I was finally safe from dreaded year of my life #48. (I wasn’t comfortable just turning 48, I had to pass 48) I’ve since learned that my younger brother (Spence) is currently sharing those same worries that I had gone through.

As somebody that has spent his life helping dogs and loving animals, I have a hard time looking at these old photo’s. Not so much because I can see how I have aged over the years, but just knowing that all those dogs are gone. It’s hard for me to look at, and it make me very sad…


That's me in the middle with Ginger, w/ Tommy & Spencer

That's me in the middle with Ginger, w/ Tommy & Spencer. Will you look at that hair cut !.

Me with Frank ( Sheriff Dept. Dog)

Me with Frank ( Sheriff Dept. Dog). Pretty cute in this one, I wonder what happened.

Early Spirit Dog Pack

Early Spirit Dog Pack

Me and, can't recall the German Shepherds name (Frank?). Clients dog

Me and, can't recall the German Shepherds name (Frank?). Clients dog

The Spirit Dog

copyright © 2009 a.s.papszycki

Leave a Reply

