A Dog That Jumps On You IS NOT Trying To Dominate You

More Stupid stuff that is taught to dog owners.

Let me make this as clear as possible, a dog that jumps up on you is happy to see you. And is in No Way shape or form attempting to be an alpha and show dominance or try to dominate you.

Any dog training person that tells you differently, does not know much about animal (dog) behavior. And they most likely will wind up doing much more harm than good, for you and your pooch.

Although on extremely rare occasions you will have a dog attempt to boss you around by standing up against you, these dogs are clearly not alphas.

Their inaccurate theory in regards to this behavior are based on the notion that dogs mount for dominance.

Alpha Dogs Don’t Mount For Dominance
Alpha or Nervous Dog Behavior

The Spirit Dog

Copyright © 2009 A.S.Papszycki

10 Responses

  1. You’re Welcome Robert,

    And thanks for the heads up, on the Quicktime.

  2. Hey, Alan…

    This has all been a great help. I will try some of these methods in the future.

    BTW He’s actually named after Dean Martin! Liz (the companion) is a big “Dino” fan. Although, Dino seems to cat more like Jerry Lewis, then Dean!

    Usually Quicktime with h.264 codec or Flash seem to be the norm. This way Mac and PC folks can view them. Or, just upload to YouTube and I think they have a specific codec to use.

    Thanks again for all your help. Really enjoying the sit, too.

    Robert

  3. Are you guys nuts, naming him Dino ? That dog (Snorkasaurus) was crazy !

    A couple things you can try;

    1- Coordinate your arrival time so your companion can put Dino’s leash on him, prior to your arrival. This way when you walk in and he goes nuts you can step on the leash in the appropriate spot to keep him from launching into the air. Meanwhile at the same time you will be attempting to calm him down (with foot firmly on leash) through gently touching or petting him , while talking calmly to him. (Obviously this will take a little practice). ( The more excited you get, the more excited Dino will get. Don’t get excited) I know easier said then done.

    Also if your (girlfriend-companion) is comfortable with it and physically able to do it, ask her to hold Dino’s leash as you’re about to pull into the driveway in an attempt to keep him from really amping up by seeing you through the window. Or she can try to pull him away from the window with the leash. ( Again this is determined by her level of comfort, her strength and how Looney Tunes Dino is)

    The other thing you can try, (and this is my preferred method of getting maniac dogs to listen, is play with them). What I mean by this is through playing we can learn to turn our dogs on and off like a light switch, by playing with them. You can initially start to try this when Dino is not acting like a maniac. It would take me awhile to try and figure out how to explain this to you ( I’m a animal guy, not a writer).

    In a nut shell (and I’m not talking about Dino. Feeble attempt at humor) you get him excited then calm him down, get him excited then calm, excited-calm, excited-calm. This way when you’re not in the mood to play and he is, you can just turn him off by saying something akin to ( “Alright not now” or “that’s enough” or “what’s a matter with you, you f-cking idiot”) something like that.

    Hope this helps in some small way, If you need I’ll try to explain it a little better. Or if I can figure out what kind of stupid codec packages I need, I can actually make a video showing you.

    Good Luck,
    Alan

  4. OK. I’ll give you as much info as I can.

    Dino is 2 1/2 years old. He likes tug the best, but will also fetch. She spends a lot of time with him and he is very attached to her. He follows her everywhere. I have a separate residence, so I don’t see him nearly enough as she does. So I spend only a few hours a week.

    She walks him almost every day, usually for a few miles. He will listen to her, but almost never listens to me. He’s very excitable and takes him a long time to calm down when I’m there. When I pull up in the driveway, he’s already frantically scratching at the window upstairs.

    When we first got him, we took him to a trainer. He was military trained and there was lots of “jerking” involved. After this, we started to get an interest in dog training, also.

    So, it’s a bit frustrating not being able to get through to him (I can’t seem to, anyway.) He seems to be much better if I meet him outside and he’s very good with me on walks. But, as soon as we get back inside, he goes nuts again.

    Hopefully that wasn’t TOO much information.

    Thanks for taking the time to listen..

    Robert

  5. Hello Robert,

    I have to ask you a couple of questions first, how old is the dog , how do you play with him and how does your companion play with him. How much time do you guys spend with him, and presently under what circumstance does he listen to either one of you (with other distractions).

    Alan

  6. Just discovered you site and blog and am thoroughly enjoying it.

    My girlfriend (I hate that term at my age…45!) has an OES who jumps up on me and also mouths. He gets very excited and takes quite a while to calm down.

    I want to make sure I do the right thing when we “greet” each other. Is there anything I should or should not do when he does this behavior.

    On a side note, I am very interested in dog (animal) behavior. So, any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks very much.

    Robert

  7. I’m so glad to see that I’m not the only one that thought that was crazy. Over the years I have hired some dog trainers and they all said the same thing, that my dog was trying to show that he was the alpha dog or pack leader and dominate me when he jumped up.
    Needless to say I wasn’t to happy with those dog training.

    BTW, No I’m not the famous oprah

  8. I love animals. Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

  9. […] thespiritdog put an intriguing blog post on A bDog/b That Jumps On You IS NOT Trying To Dominate You « The Spirit bDog/bHere’s a quick excerptA bDog/b That Jumps On You IS NOT Trying To Dominate You. Posted on February 16, 2009 by thespiritdog. More Stupid stuff that is taught to bdog/b owners. Let me make this as clear as possible, a bdog/b that jumps up on you is happy to see you. b…/b […]

  10. […] thespiritdog added an interesting post today on A bDog/b That Jumps On You IS NOT Trying To Dominate You « The Spirit bDog/bHere’s a small readingA bDog/b That Jumps On You IS NOT Trying To Dominate You. Posted on February 16, 2009 by thespiritdog. More Stupid stuff that is taught to bdog/b owners. Let me make this as clear as possible, a bdog/b that jumps up on you is happy to see you. b…/b […]

Leave a Reply

