How Smart Animal People Don’t Think Sometimes

This video has to do with Marine Biology and the apparent lack of understanding inherited behaviors in the animals that you deal with. The video will show how animal keepers at the Seattle Aquarium wanted to move an Octopus to a larger tank, that housed sharks.

There concerns were for the Octopus getting eaten by the Sharks, which were in error. What they obviously didn’t think of, was the Octopus eating the sharks. An all to common problem in the behavior field, is a lack of true understandings of the subject matters behaviors.

The Spirit Dog

10 Responses

  1. Amazing blog! Very interesting aspects. I will often read it. Also subscribed on rss.

  2. don’t www(dot)gravatar(dot)com/avatar/a29e2e0fe107d2e1afd8aa434f97fb3e?s=32&d=wavatar&r=R

  3. this is cool website ………………………………………………………………………………………………………..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. this is such a cool webpage and i think it amazeing

  5. “Until you figure out which theme is best, I think you should concentrate on making it look good in Internet Explorer and Firefox (FX) browser”
    -that’s what I figured glad to know I am on the right track…
    And by the way the Rick Horowitz quote was a repost from back in probably April that is why you are probably coming up empty….I have been reposting some of my archives lately..

  6. Yea, I checked the Chicago Tribune site and couldn’t find it. thought maybe I just missed it.

    Until you figure out which theme is best, I think you should concentrate on making it look good in Internet Explorer and Firefox (FX) browser. I think they account for something like 90% of the computer out there. (you probably already know that)

    http://www.w3schools.com/browsers/browsers_stats.asp

    That’s a great site to learn stuff.

    I’ve had to fix some broken sidebars that worked in Firefox but not IE.

    Sad to say 30″s would be a heat wave for use.

  7. “Hey, I was looking at your site yesterday and wanted to do a piece about what that Chicago Tribune guy said, was that in an article or was it just a quote he made ?”

    I actually found it as a “quote”…

    as far as my links I have been trying to check the links and fix them….unfortunately a new problem I am encountering that causes issues is ‘theme’ compatability within different browsers…have you stumbled on that one as of yet??? I keep using themes that work great in one and look great but are a complete mess in others…
    Cold front comes in tonight it will be in the 30’s….brrrrr for us!!!🙂

  8. Hello Michele,

    Your getting pretty geeky huh. Before I knew there were things called blogs I registered a web site, to try and do the same thing I’m doing with this blog. Those easy to use ? site builders drove me crazy.

    Hey, I was looking at your site yesterday and wanted to do a piece about what that Chicago Tribune guy said, was that in an article or was it just a quote he made ?

    Anyway, I still see there’s links from your wordpress blog that don’t work. If you still have access to the administration pages maybe if you change the permalinks that will fix the problem.

    Instead off fidosplace.wordpress.com/ your article title/… you can change it too fidos-place.com/?p=(your number). I think that should work, even know I know you have tons of posts. Start off with your most read post’s first.

    Good luck, and have a wonderfully warm day down there.

    Alan

  9. Hi Alan,
    just wanted to stop by and say hello…
    I have moved your widget to my ‘Enter the dog house’ page
    http://fidos-place.com/?page_id=500
    Hope all is well on your end
    Michele

Leave a Reply

