Dog Training Dog Trainers Dog Behaviorist

test your dog trainers knowledge

If you live in the Los angeles, CA area . The dog trainer or behaviorist you hire must be able to show you personally that your dog is capable of listening and behaving with them. If they are incapable of getting your dog to listen to them, how can they possible help you with your dog problem. If the trainer or behaviorist is any good, there is not a dog on our planet that won’t listen to them in a relatively short period of time with them talking to the dog only. Not yanking the dogs head around on a leash, not using a shock collar, not dominating the animal in anyway, and not using treats.

The following is a link to a dog trainer / behaviorist test. That any potential dog trainer or behaviorist should pass first, before you hire on a multi-session basis.

Dog Training, Finding the Perfect Dog Trainer

The Spirit Dog

4 Responses

  1. When you’re attempting to relax a nervous dog, you do what ever makes it easier for you to accomplish making the dog less nervous.
    Ya know Adrienne, I’ll finish talking about this later. Right now I have to address that last paragraph which really bothers me a lot.
    Dogs are always talking to us, we just have to learn how to listen to them. That in a nutshell is the major problem I have with many dog trainers and behaviorists, they just don’t get it.

    There’s a world of difference between dog training and understanding dogs. One is constant repetitions and one is communicating with dogs. Some people that train dogs to perform certain tasks, will have that understanding of dogs. But those trainers are few and far between. And like your friend said every dog person thinks they know their shit, and unfortunately that’s just not the case.

    If you want to get a better understanding and an appreciation of dogs, just sit a watch a couple of dogs interacting with each other (don’t participate). Well actually you would have to watch and eventually participate or interact, with many, many dogs.

  2. Not-so-clumsy writing. Have you ever tried to read “Control Unleashed”? Good stuff but hard to follow. 🙂

    I want to apologize for being so abrupt in the end of the last post. All I can say is that it was late!

    Very useful stuff. Used some of it today when Emma started doing heats up and down the fenceline and barking after the squirrel. Used some more when on a walk and again when she was getting ready to lose it at the window.

    Ok, I know you say you “make a dog happy” but it isn’t really helpful from this end. I mean, I know you don’t take him down to Mickie D’s for an ice cream cone ya know? From the nervous dog photos I can see that it doesn’t have to involve putting your hands on him. Do you take it on a gradient? Meaning, do you work on getting him happy in non-stimulative environments before adding things that stress him out to the mix? Do you stay far enough away that he doesn’t freak out when you do add those things? You know, HOW do you make him happy?

    I know this stuff doesn’t come through in words too well. Especially since I think timing is everything on a lot of this stuff. If you do get videos up that would be great.

    I defee-a-natly appresiates your time on the blog!

    One of my friends gave me a saying last fall that about sums up the conflicting data on dog training nowadays. She said, “You know whay we’re all the best dog trainers ever?” (“Why no,” says I.) “Because the dogs can’t talk!”
    🙂

  3. Hello Adrienne,

    WOW, you made it through 100 posts of my clumsy writing ? Over the next couple of days I’ll be replying to all of your comments since I see you left a few, by the way great observation on nervous dog photos. There are so many things you can look at to tell what a dog is going through emotionally and behaviorally but the dogs eyes are really the easiest thing to observe.

    The posts are short for two reasons 1- very few people read anything longer than 200 words or so and 2- people interpret words differently so I’m just trying to teach in a general manner a little bit more accurate understanding of dogs and inherited behaviors. If I find some time to learn how to make videos of this stuff, it will be much easier to understand exactly what to do, but until then this is better than nothing.
    My method, if you want to call it that, is simply to make a dog happy when they are feeling nervous or stressed.

    Thank you for reading so much stuff Adrienne, I hope you found some of it useful.

  4. Ya know, I initially linked into this blog for searching “dog trainers”. Why? Because I would love to find out what one has to do to be a really successful dog trainer. I have come a long ways with my own dog. I like helping people with their dogs. I have this vision of a type of dog trainging that is focused on “life skills”. I.e. how not to freak out when left alone. How to have your dog be confident and happy in almost any normal situation. Sit, stay sure. How about a fool proof “come”? I live in the city. The club I train at is obedience oriented. They are gradually changing their format to helping dog owners have well-behaved, every day dogs. Hopefully some of my input has affected that. Who cares if the dog can do a left finish? I just want him to stop chasing the cat/car/mailman when I call him!

    The more I read the more I realize how much I don’t know. I have used clicker and treats with my dog as she came to me a basket case and I had no intention of going to any dog training facility that used intimidation etc. “Positive reinforcement was the great altenative. I don’t then therefore believe that a negative reinforcement should never be used. For instance, when I got my dog she had a bad habit of lunging toward my face in s nervous sort of greeting. She would routinely bang me with her front teeth. Knowing that a mother would growl or nip in this instance, the next time it happened I managed to time it and gave her a rap on the top of her nose. I did NOT clobber her, a light slap. I only had to do that twice more and the behaiour was gone forever. (The look on her face was priceless, a sort of stunned “oh, I shouldn’t do that?”)

    So, what is your method (for lack of a better word). And if you just say “to know dog’s behaviour” I might rap YOU on the nose. I have read over a 100 posts tonight and call tell that you have a clue. But the posts are pretty light on WHAT you do, exactly.

    Adrienne

Leave a Reply

