Alpha or Dominant Dog Summation, (pack summary)

Have you been told you have an alpha dog or puppy ? Need some answers as to what your suppose to do now ?

Before you start worrying to much about this, you should tell me exactly what behaviors your puppy or dog are exhibiting. Especially if you have a puppy under the age of twelve months. Over the course of the last eight years, I have had the opportunity to study five separate litters of puppies. The findings to a considerable extent, where quite interesting.

What the following will tell you is the dominant puppy in the early stages of life. Inevitably their pack status is relegated from alpha to lower pack position by a year in a half, to two years of age.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

What the research showed in all five separate groups, the dominant behaviors of a single puppy towards their litter mates, start at approximately five weeks old. And continues until the pup’s reach the age of seven to nine months. Through out the beginning of the pups dominance stage, from five weeks through roughly the next thirty weeks. There is little resistance to their dominance. At closer observation the dominance is only directed at one to three of their siblings,( the more nervous pups) in non-food related incidences. When some people evaluate young puppies, they mistakenly identify this type of puppy as the alpha of the group. Normally the eventual alpha of the pack, is one of the more reserved pups that the other puppies tend to not bother.

The result of this pups over eagerness to show dominance over a few of his litter mates, will have two consequences on the packs stability.

( 1 ) The likelihood of the pup that initially showed dominance, getting attacked by their siblings will start when the pups reach the eighteen month old range. This happened in one of the five groups.

( 2 ) In the other four groups, the pups that were the original target of the more dominant pup. The risk becomes high, for them being attacked by their siblings.

( Note) In two of the five groups, once removing the (fake) alpha, stability was returned to that pack. In the other three groups, the lower pack members were removed from the pack. Out of the five groups, the five (fake) alphas or the idiots as I like to call them, consisted of three females and two males.

In nature this is one of the contributing factors, as to why the packs are not as large as would be expected. (wolves or coyotes).

The point of me explaining this to you is a significant portion of dog owners, think they have an alpha dog. By mistaking our dogs behaviors we will be taking the wrong approach to modifying those behaviors, hence we will see no improvement. Sadly if a dog trainer came to your home, and confirmed that your dog or puppy is an alpha, do not lose hope most likely they are wrong. The best advice I can give in regards to evaluating whether or not the dog trainer or behaviorist you hire is any dam good is, almost immediately you should be thinking to yourself, ” Wow, is that really my dog” when the trainer first starts handling your dog. Now that doesn’t mean that they will be any good as your teacher, that just means they are good with dogs. And that’s a pretty good start.

TheSpiritDog WordPress Blog

Related Article

How to be your dogs, Alpha Dog

6 Responses

  1. Well, my German Spitz gave birth to two bitches last December. It happens that the mother is a very easy, submissive dog and the father is a sweet male – not angry or aggressive, neither dominant. With 3 weeks, the puppies begun to growl and now, to my surprise, with 45 days, one of them is getting aggressive when i have to tell her not to do something. She shows other signs of dominance, as trying to mount on her sister and growling hard to her and their mother. I’m keeping one of the puppies as companion to the mother and the other one belongs to the father’s owners. Now i’m scared because even trying Cesar’s techniques isn’t being easy because she’s very resistant and tries hard to stand against me. I’m worried because someone is going to adopt her and i would like to calm her down a bit in the couple weeks i have before letting her go. I hope i can find a way to make her a bit more submissive so she won’t suffer or won’t be abandoned later…😦

  2. Hello, I just got a Shetland sheep dog puppy. First 2 days I had her was me trying to get her to trust me and not be scared of everything. Her biting started off as playing, but now every time I correct or even try to pet her she tries to bite me. I’ve done the whole “YIPE” or “OUCH” thing with no effect because I have to do it so often. After a correction she stares me down, she attacks my arm or hand and bites. In order for me to even walk through the door first I have to have her on the leash. If I dont have her on a leash she bolts past me while I’m telling her to wait. Now I’m a bit of a push over and she knows it. I’ve got the bite marks and scratch marks to prove it. Now shes fine with my husband all he can do what ever he wants and she leaves him alone, but if I want to do something she is constantly biting on me. Of course when she does this she ends up locked in the kitchen for a time out.

  3. Luka is a 5 month old Alaskan Malamute. Latest example: Last night he took something out of my recycling bags, I got it away from him gently because two times before when I’ve tried taking things away aggressively he has tried to bite me growls, I held him down until he stopped growling and quit trying to get away and then let him go. Second time I did that he went outside, came right back and and peed on the floor right in front of me….I’m being told not to confront him with anger or force. So…back to last night, I tried it calmly and peacefully, he followed me to the recycling and and when I said no and blocked him from getting to it he started growling at me and his lip was trying to curl up a little bit. I wrapped a leash around his neck that happened to be close by, put him in his kennel and left him in there all night. He seemed a little nicer this morning but we’ll see how the day shapes up. Any suggestions? Need more info? Thanks in advance for any help with this.

  4. I have an 8 week old male german shepard puppy. He consistently bites, not hard (which I understand puppies do) but when we roll him on his side he calms down but urinates on the carpet. He is also extreamly rough with the 10 and 13 year old male children. I believe the puppy will calm down as he grows and will not challange us as much. I am in the process of leash training which seam to be going well. Any suggestion

    Larry

  5. […] else’s articles first, I bet ya they all say the same things. Then when your done, read the ‘alpha or dominant dog summation’ article I […]

  6. […] bookmarks tagged dominant Alpha or Dominant Dog Summation, (pack summary) saved by 3 others     Sigepchi bookmarked on 07/26/08 | […]

Leave a Reply

