Dog Behavior Evaluation ; A sad puppy story

A couple of months ago we,( Spirit Animal Sanctuary ). Received a frantic call from a puppy owner, in Tennessee. The woman was looking for a animal sanctuary to take her puppy. So I’m thinking a nine or ten month old puppy, that’s getting a little to mouthy with her, while playing. NOPE , as amazing as this may sound, this unfortunately, is not all that uncommon.

She had a ten week old German Shepherd puppy, in which she hired a dog trainer to help her with housebreaking, dog training, proper puppy care, you know, general stuff like that. What the trainer told this woman was, ” This is the most aggressive puppy I’ve ever met”, and she recommended euthanizing the little guy.

This obviously freaked the woman out. But instead of questioning her evaluation, she believed it. And why shouldn’t she believe them, this was a professional dog trainer, giving her their expert opinion about her puppy.

I say this is not all that uncommon, because it’s not.  Sadly I hear these stories to often, and if you think that’s bad enough it’s not uncommon for dog rescue groups to put down whole litter’s of puppies on the advice of their professional evaluators. After their puppy “expert” tells them, ” This is a bad batch of puppies, we have to euthanize (kill) them because we can’t adopt them out”.

The moral of this story ; Just because you hired a dog trainer or animal behaviorists, and it doesn’t matter if they are certified dog trainers or “real” behaviorists that have letters after their name. If anybody ever tells you to euthanize a puppy, they really don’t have the knowledge required to be doing this for a living.

About the puppy, We never heard back from them. Poor little guy, never had a chance at life.

The Spirit Dog

copyright © 2008 A.S.Papszycki

6 Responses

  1. after i read this i looked at my dog for a good five or six mins😦

  2. 😀🙂 soo sad!😐😦 im actually crying sob sob

  3. i feel soo sad cuz i heard another sad story on youtube its called a sad story it will make you cry😦

  4. If you ever want to see a reader’s feedback🙂 , I rate this article for four from five. Detailed info, but I have to go to that damn msn to find the missed bits. Thank you, anyway!

  5. I once had a dog trainer tell me that about my 13 week old Pomeranian. And when she told me this, I became totally nervous and worried thinking “what have I got myself into”. Luckily before doing anything rash with Thelma, a friend said to me ” stop driving yourself crazy and call somebody else”.
    So I did, and here I am 12 years later and Thelma is the best dog on the planet.

    Just thought you’d like to know.

    Stacy

Leave a Reply

