Dog Training, Finding the Perfect Dog Trainer

How to determine whether a dog trainer or behaviorist can help you.

If your dog is displaying any type of a nervous aggression, barking, growling, snapping or lunging at people or other dogs. You must test the dog trainer or behaviorist you are considering hiring, to find out if they are any good at what they claim to be good at. Or they are just another ineffective dog trainer.

This simple test will determine if the trainer is very good, good or useless.

If the person you hire while they are working with your dog, cannot get your dog to stop the unwanted behavior. How can they possibly teach you to do it, if they can’t do it themselves.

The Dog Trainer/Behaviorist Test.

On the very first session, with the trainer working or handling your dog. You should be absolutely amazed how your dog reacts with the trainer / behaviorist. The trainer must be able to get your dog to pay attention to him or her, in that first session. If your dog “acts aggressive” with people, then people must be added into the equation. If the problem is with dogs, you must do the same.

The first session is a test of the trainers abilities, you do not attempt to socialize your dog with either people or dogs at this time. That will come later.

Analyzing the results of the trainer test

  1. Very Good – Within that first session your dog is listening and only occasionally will the trainer have to refocus your dogs attention back onto them.

  2. Good – The trainer may not accomplish getting your dog to totally listen to them in the first session. But they where able to get your dog to listen fifty percent of the time.
  3. Useless – Your dog acts no better with them as the dog does with you.

There are plenty of good trainers out there that can help you. Unfortunately there are many more that are not as good as they should be. You must be diligent in your search.

And do not be impressed by any dog trainers or behaviorists credentials (certified dog trainer, PhD behaviorist, DVM behaviorist). If they have credentials and they pass the test, excellent. If they have credentials and fail the test, what good are they . Do not believe any seemingly logical explanation they make for not handling your dog, or getting your dog to listen to them. People that are ineffective at their job, regardless of how nice a person they are often have excuses or reasons why something didn’t work. The proof is always, in the pudding.

Do not be embarrassed to test them, you must find out if they can help you or not.. Your dogs life may be hanging in the balance here, so test them.

The Spirit Dog

“It should be a very simple matter for any dog professional that knows the canine mind, to get your dog to listen and behave with them. Before they start teaching you how to do it.”

http://www.youtube.com/user/thespiritdog

Some photo’s of our dogs and me.

I walk the walk

The Spirit Dog

Dog training talk is cheap

Dog training talk is cheap.

Protection Deprogramming by Guess Who ?

Protection Deprogramming by Guess Who ?

Kindred Spirits

Helping Wolf Rescues understand behavior better.

Another kindred spirit

According to some wolf experts, you could never pet a wolfs belly !

The Spirit Dog

 

Spirit Animal Sanctuary – 2539 Eat Road – Boonville, New York 13309

 

Copyright © 2008 a.s.papszycki

38 Responses

  1. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come
    back in the future. Cheers

  2. Best is, for anyone who is intrigued to utilize the website link
    you find in this article to check out Mike Geary.
    The will not ‘make’ you give up cigarettes, however they will promote that you get involved in a cigarette smoking-like action that’s not as damaging to your health.

    The 20′s had been wonder days and nights for This particular language football.

  3. Fantastic post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more about this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Bless you!

  4. Hello, this weekend is nice in favor of me, for the
    reason that this point in time i am reading this wonderful informative piece of writing here at my residence.

  5. I understand your idea, and I absolutely love your article. For what its worth I will tell all my friends about it, quite creative.

  6. What you posted was actually very reasonable. But, what about this? suppose you added a little content? I ain’t saying your information isn’t solid., however suppose you added a post title to possibly get people’s attention? I mean Dog Training, Finding the Perfect Dog Trainer is kinda plain. You could look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create news titles to grab people to click. You might try adding a video or a pic or two to get people excited about everything’ve written. Just my opinion, it might bring your posts a little livelier.

  7. Wayy cool! Some very valid points! I appreiate you writing this write-up ppus
    the rest of the site is really good.

  8. I ran across your site a week ago as well as began to follow your site content regularly. I haven’t left a comment on any sort of blog site just yet but I was considering to start soon. It’s actually exciting to actually contribute to an article even if it’s only a blog. I truly loved reading through a couple of your posts. Fantastic articles no doubt. I’ll keep visiting your blog frequently. I learned a lot from you. Thanks!

  9. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it,
    you might be a great author. I will be sure to
    bookmark your blog and will evenrually come back at some point.
    I want to encourrage you to continue your great writing, have a nice
    weekend!

  10. Everything is very open with a really clear description of the
    challenges. It was definitely informative. Your website is very helpful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  11. I amm regular visitor, how are you everybody? This article
    posted aat this website is genuinely pleasant.

  12. Hi there, its fastidious article concerning msdia print, we all bbe aware of media is a wonderful source of facts.

  13. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blo and wanted to
    say that I hve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

    Aftrr all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  14. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking
    through some of the post I realized it’s new too me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I
    found it and I’ll be bookjarking and checking back often!

  15. qw
    Very descriptive blog, I enjoyed that a lot.

    Will there be a part 2?

  16. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re
    just too magnificent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in
    which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep
    it smart. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is
    really a great website.

  17. This page truly has all the information and facts I wanted concerning this subject
    and didn’t know who to ask.

  18. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website
    so i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to
    find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few
    of your ideas!!

  19. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but
    your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead
    and bookmark your site to come back in the future.

    Cheers

  20. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right
    here. I did however expertise some technical points using this website,
    as I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score
    if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding
    this RSS to my email and could look out for much
    more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update
    this again very soon.

  21. Please let me know if you’re looking for a
    writer for your site. You have some really good articles and I feel I would
    be a good asset. If you ever want to take some
    of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if interested.
    Regards!

  22. I visit every day some web pages and websites to read posts, however this blog presents quality based articles.

  23. Wonderful post! We will be linking to this particularly great post on our
    website. Keep up the good writing.

  24. No records, no IP footprints, and all the banned material you can shake a stick at.
    Hardware bans can prevent your computer profile from connecting to the
    service, and that cannot be altered by a proxy service.
    On most IRC networks, your host isnt masked when you whois,
    meaning the entire IP appears, like 194.

  25. After looking over a number of the blog posts on your web page, I truly like your technique of blogging.
    I book marked it to my bookmark website list and will
    be checking back soon. Take a look at my website
    as well and tell me what you think.

  26. For most up-to-date information you have to pay a visit web and on internet I
    found this web site as a finest website for
    newest updates.

  27. In case you a to understand how easy are remote dog training collars making use of, or perhaps needing information about
    how they work, then keep reading. But this does not mean that older dogs cannot be trained
    anymore. When a herding dog develops bad habits
    it can be dangerous for the sheep as well as the security
    of your flock.

  28. my dog is bitting me when i put my hand in eats food bowl while she is eating

  29. Lots of Good information in your post, I favorited your blog so I can visit again in the future, All the Best, Pamelia Zellers

  30. Alan, i think you’re right…had this experience yesterday at another trainers facility and client! I got the dog to do two things, calm down and lie down, before that the dog was biting the owner while she was attempting (!) to command him to do something. The other thing, when i commanded the dog to come to me, he responded immediately, i guess at least in that context/situation I must have scored a “very good”

    And i happen to be certified in dog behavior! Also, nice blog, looks like you do nice work.

    joyce kesling, CDBC

  31. You should have stopped at one link.

  32. Getting a dog trainer is a big decision. You have some really good points and I like how you put it bluntly on the fact that if they can’t get your dog to stop those unwanted behaviors, then how on earth will they be able to teach you how to do this!

    Check out our website for another perspective on tips for finding the right dog trainer…
    dogtrainingsavvy(dot)com/dog-training/dog-trainer-do-you-need-one

  33. Are you looking for some helpful tips that you can use to train your dog? Discover some simple yet effective hints to turn your dog into a “perfect gentleman”.

  34. [...] – Dog Training, Finding the Perfect Dog Trainer saved by designient2008-08-25 – Please Critique my first squeeze page saved by bastawhiz2008-08-21 [...]

  35. Hi M , hope you’ve been well.

    I don’t know. The most likely reason is, I’m the only one teaching this stuff. And from teaching people dog behavior for so long, I know a lot of dog owners just don’t buy into the currently accepted teachings on canine behavior. And they shouldn’t, considering a significant portion of the information is inaccurate.

    Now, I’m not an SEO guy, but I do have some thoughts on your site. If your interested in what’s probably useless advice, email me and I’ll tell you what I think.

    Sincerely
    Al

  36. p.s. how in the heck are you getting such great hits?? share the secret will ya…lol

  37. I completely agree….but I would be surprised at a dog growling no matter how fearful of his owner. Unless the dog is a newer family addition or rescue. A dog peeing is more what I have seen when some idiot is throwing a tantrum. Of course i do not deal with any dog that growls, i have kids so i do not take chances. We raise our pets from youngsters!!
    Great article…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

